Welcome, 2017 :)

Good afternoon fellow millennials

Welcome 2017, the year of new beginnings, the year to think and act independently and to express our uniqueness – so says the numerologists.

Let me take this opportunity to say Happy New Year to all, I hope this December was a joyous one filled with memories to hold close to your heart and that 2017 brings an abundance of peace, happiness and LOVE.

With the festive season having passed – and the majority of us already warming up our office chairs – what were the highlights of your holiday? Want to know the highlights of mine? 🙂 Here we go…

img_2345So this festive season, just like the last, was spent working at my day job; but after the year I’ve had I was not about to just sit down all fussed up and accept it as is; I had to make the most of it – especially with the view I had on my way to work this one day. This festive season was more a series of alternating breakaways and work weeks. I’d work the week and on weekends my girlfriend and I would plan a trip to one place or the next. so where did i go, what did i do?

First up was the usual breakfast run, all people that know me know how much I love breakfast and places that do awesome breakfasts. In this instance there were two breakfast places we had been to:

  • Salvation Cafe in Johannesburg CBD. This gem of a place is surrounded by curio shops, a chocolatier, a quirky events venue and other cafes of the like.img_2526
  • The Saxon Hotel in Sandhurst, Johannesburg. So Yuvisti has been mentioning champagne breakfasts quite often, and we finally went to a place that could accommodate this. The breakfast was quality, I could go on about it for days; but I won’t. I’ll just say this… I had 6 oysters 😀

img_2788

Next we have the Kruger National Park. This place needs no introduction. We stayed there through christmas and on christmas morning my entire family went on a game drive – we saw all of the big 5 except for the leopard; damn cat went missing!

img_2669

On our way back to Johannesburg (with my brothers and parents on their way to Mozambique) we stopped at some caves, Sudwala Caves…

Lastly we have the prawns (yes, PRAWNS) my parents brought back from Mozam! These things were huge! The smallest was 30cm+!! These made my day; i had always wanted prawns this size, and for the first time I’VE GOT EM!

img_2767

So that’s that. My festive season in a nutshell.

Once again, I wish all a great 2017; make the most of it 😉

Leave a Reply

